Penalty for Drug Offenses
In California, possession of drugs for personal use (called simple possession) is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to one year in county jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and community service. However, the charge can be elevated to a felony if you were convicted of a serious felony in the past.
In addition, California follows a three-strike program. A second offense raises the fine to $2,000, but a third offense for serious felonies is punishable by 25 years to life in prison.
Drug trafficking and possession of controlled substances with the intent to sell and distribute carry stricter penalties. A felony charge for these acts can lead to imprisonment of at least three to five years, or three to nine years in prison if the crime involved minors.
Being charged with drug offenses is a serious matter. If you or someone you know is facing drug charges, contact our office to speak with a criminal defense attorney today.