California Criminal Defense Lawyer

Facing assault and battery charges?

California state law takes physical violence seriously, and there are three types that can lead to charges of assault and battery. A simple assault is an unlawful attempt to cause physical injury to another person, while battery includes threatening and attempting to commit an assault and battery.

However, these charges can be elevated if the prosecution can show that there’s an aggravating circumstance to do so. If you’re facing charges of assault and battery, make sure to contact a local criminal defense attorney immediately.

Legal questions or concerns?

Our experienced attorney at the Law Offices of Andrew Dosa can answer questions and address your concerns regarding criminal defense, civil litigation, and estate planning.
SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION

Penalties for Assault and Battery

Assault and battery can be charged as either a simple or aggravated case.

A simple assault charge is treated as a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in county jail, $1000 fine, probation, plus restitution to the victim.

On the other hand, battery can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the nature of the alleged offense. As a misdemeanor, battery is punishable by six months in county jail and a $2,000 fine. For a felony battery conviction, the maximum penalty is three years in prison, a fine of $2,000 to $10,000, probation, and restitution to the victims.

Note that penalties and sentencing for a convicted offender may vary depending on the severity of the crime, aggravating circumstances, and the criminal history of the defendant.

If you or someone you know is charged with assault and battery, contact our office to talk to an experienced criminal defense attorney who can prepare a strong defense for you. Call 510-333-4564 or fill out the contact form to schedule a consultation today.